Okay, disclaimer upfront; I really don’t know much about hockey, having never played. I like to watch the occasional college rivalries and get caught up in the Bruins when they’re on a roll.  I tend more towards college hoops (and yes, watching golf).  So when a dear friend of mine who happens to be a die-hard Bruins fan, and who also happens to come from Canada told me how disappointed she was in Tim Thomas’ boycott of the Whitehouse, well I just had to Google it up and see what the hubbub was all about.

Sorry, out taking a stand...

 It appears that Mr. Thomas wants to be apolitical while making a political statement.  Hey, I’m down with that.  Unfortunately, not a lot of people are. He’s being accused of insulting the president, insulting his team, insulting his management, insulting the Stanley Cup and he probably stepped on a few kittens and kicked some puppies this morning just for good measure.

I find this all rather amusing.  If Mr. Thomas wants to pass up an opportunity to visit the Whitehouse, that’s his call.  I’ve read that he’s a staunch conservative.  So one can assume that he’s really taking a poke at the current administration, even though he says otherwise in his statement:

“I believe the Federal government has grown out of control, threatening the Rights, Liberties, and Property of the People.
This is being done at the Executive, Legislative, and Judicial level. This is in direct opposition to the Constitution and the Founding Fathers vision for the Federal government.

Because I believe this, today I exercised my right as a Free Citizen, and did not visit the White House. This was not about politics or party, as in my opinion both parties are responsible for the situation we are in as a country. This was about a choice I had to make as an INDIVIDUAL.

This is the only public statement I will be making on this topic. TT”

Okay, I’ll take him at his word.  He was making an individual statement and took a stand.  And for those who are insulted, disappointed, embarrassed and all?  Please, get over it.  This is a game.  I realize for some folks out there, sports is all consuming, just look at the way you’ll beat each other comatose in the parking lots over the wrong color jersey.  Very few average citizens get to make a statement to the buffoons of either party that are supposed to work for us and there’s just something, in the words of Chris Matthews, very “tingling” about it being done so openly and in your face.

So a young man who makes a good living playing a game takes what he believes to be a principled stand and we’re now debating if it was appropriate.

It’s always been appropriate.  Only now, it’s a little rare.  We need more people in this country to start taking principled stands to pull this government back from the professional politicians who are driving this country into the ground.

Otherwise, we’re just passing the puck.

