Evening had just fallen as my eldest daughter and I were heading out to the supermarket.  I peered out the front window and noticed a battered white pickup creeping slowly past the front of the house, only to stop at the end of the driveway across the street.  Odd.  It started to move slowly again, rolling past the end of our driveway and on into the neighborhood.  Never saw the truck before and it wasn’t a vehicle owned by any of the residents of our enclosed neighborhood.  I didn’t think anything more about it until I started to back out of the driveway only to stop and let it creep by a second time as it had obviously made a loop through the block.  Given the fact that we had a recent spate of con artists knocking on doors to take down payments for home repairs related to the recent wind storm we had, I thought maybe I’d take a look and get in line behind the suspicious truck and follow it around it’s course through the neighborhood.  It proceeded well below the speed limit for about a quarter-mile before it realized I was behind it and raced off.  I stopped at the nearest intersection; it went left out of the neighborhood and I went right to circle back home.  I popped into the house to tell my wife to call the police and keep an eye on the road then backed down the driveway again to complete my shopping mission. I wasn’t a hundred yards down the road before the truck rounded the corner and sped up to get on my tail.  It proceeded to draft me, not more that two feet off my rear bumper so I turned right at the same intersection as before but this time it followed me.  I drove slowly, just at the speed limit and it continued to drop back, then speed up to get on my tail.  Not wanting to indicate where I lived, I pulled over near the neighborhood fishing pond and it tucked in behind me at first, and then sped out around us, turning into one of the cul-de-sacs that link to our main road.  He sped around the circle and came right back at us as I dialed the police.  It stopped menacingly across the street from us, its engine gunning.  I reached into the glove box to get my flashlight and stepped out of the car with my phone in clear view up to my head and shined the light on its plate.  He crept by then accelerated as he drove out of the neighborhood.  I reported the description to the police and got back in the car.  I made one more loop to allow some time and distance between us but it was no good.  As I headed down the main road to exit the neighborhood, it was once again entering and passed us coming in.  I had just profiled.  No neighborhood watchman, but we do look out for each other in our little neighborhood.  I wasn’t looking to get the life beat out of me or heaven forbid shot on the side of the road, but I had every right to keep an eye out for strange activities in the neighborhood, just as the authorities had asked us to do.  Would these folks have had the right to assault me based on my profiling?  I couldn’t even tell what color they were but it never crossed my mind to find out.  I really didn’t give a crap.  I was keying off the behavior based on experiences we had recently had regarding such behavior.  Profiling 101? Or common sense?  Little of both?

Feelings of guilt for a not guilty vote?

Feelings of guilt for a not guilty vote?

So we know that George killed Trayvon.  Certainly not in dispute.  Some however, want his behavior to be a clear indication that he’s a racist and his whole thought was to kill Trayvon in cold blood and he only “profiled” him because he was black.  Many had convicted George of murder well before the evidence was presented, based solely on their emotions and political leanings.  Another racist white bastard kills an unarmed innocent black kid just because he was the wrong color in the wrong place at the wrong time.  It appears the even one of the jurors had this impression and pre-determination as she listened to evidence and deliberated with her fellow jurists.  Her take?  Yeah he was guilty of murder.  But I let him go anyway.

So juror B-29, or “Maddy” as she calls herself, hits the talk show circuit to tell us all “for myself, he’s guilty because the evidence shows he’s guilty.”  Of course she doesn’t vote that way because the evidence obviously showed he wasn’t.  Strange.

If the evidence had shown he was guilty, why not vote to convict?  Not quite sure, but she’s pretty clear, stating “That’s where I felt confused, but as the law was read to me, if you have no proof that he killed him intentionally, you can’t say he’s guilty.”  So you’re telling us that you have no proof that he intentionally killed him but you’re sure he got away with murder.

No Maddy, what this tells us is that you’re disappointed that you couldn’t find evidence to support the position you held well before you heard any testimony.  You’re a little disappointed that you’ll now have to walk the streets as a minority who missed out on the chance to show how evil white people are, or at least how evil white-Hispanics are, evidence be damned.   Your racism is showing Maddy, but that’s okay, as we all know that racism is defined by the left, the press and the rest of the race-baiters in society as something that only afflicts white people.  George was guilty of murder and you were going there to vote that way.  Would have been one hell of a party had it gone down like that huh Maddy. It’s a shame that those pesky details called facts and evidence got in your way.  How you voted to acquit is anyone’s guess.  How you got on the jury in the first place is another question.

So you wanted him guilty from the start, but you deny that to get on the jury.  And once on the jury you find him not guilty of the charges yet you’re sure he was guilty of murder.   How anyone can take you serious or sympathize with you now is the question, but I’d bet I’m a racist for pointing out that you’re an opportunistic dumb-ass.  Many are praising you for doing the right thing.  According to you, you didn’t do the right thing, just the most expedient.

The jury system in this country is only as good as those we put on it.  If we allow anyone on with a pre-determined position based solely on emotion or race, we might as well become a third world democracy with kangaroo courts.  Convicting because someone is white is just as heinous as convicting because they’re not.  But in a time where most people I know that voted for the current occupant of the White House voted for him solely because he was black, I see the polarization deepening.  Some people seem to want it that way.  Some of them are in positions of power or influence while others, too ignorant of their own biases, sit on juries that decide the fate of fellow citizens and the long-term health of society.

We, the jury, can no longer be trusted.  Case closed.

