Don’t you hate when things get “taken out of context?”  When people assign their interpretation to something you may have inadvertently said, defining your intentions based on their biases or world-view, it can be frustrating.  Or worse, defaming and downright destructive.  Many a poorly chosen phrase uttered in a moment of duress or lacking mental acuity has tarnished many a reputation.  Of course, there are those who lurk in the shadows, perusing every written word, poorly edited correspondence or garbled, scratchy open mic recording, waiting for someone of stature to show that they too are fallible, enabling the poser to pounce and sully an otherwise spotless reputation, usually for some political one-upmanship.  There are times however, when meaning is clear, no translation or straining of one’s imagination is required.  It is what it is; no explanation or defense is possible, regardless of what intention might be claimed.  Then what?

Who's your friggin' daddy?

Who’s your friggin’ daddy?

If I sent hundreds of rather alarming texts to a female co-worker, no matter what the context or what I deemed to be “appropriate,” would I be subject to any legal ramifications?  More likely I’d lose my job, sure, but what about criminal stalking?  Could I ask my female co-worker “when are you moving in?” or suggest, “you already know I’ll smack your ass” and be able to defend them as “being taken out of context?”  What context, exactly, would I put them in?  That I only cared deeply for her in a non-sexual way, wanted to protect and nurture her?  Would you laugh in my face, shake my hand, spit on me, congratulate me or loosen some of my teeth?  What if I sent close to 350 of these “out of context” types of messages?  Could you, with any certainty, guess my motives, my real intentions?

What if I texted the following:

“Just know I love you.”

“Night baby doll.”

“I’ve grown really attached to you. So when I say I love you, I truly mean it.”

“You’ve grown to be a major part of my life.”

“We need some us time.”

“No you or 2 smacks of ass.”

“Hope you miss me as much as I do you.”

“Damn this feels like you really are mine.”

“Just making sure our business stays with us.”

“These are the days I want to take you home and give you the love you deserve.”

“Love you sweetheart.”

“So our date is official?”

What pattern do you see here?  Am I infatuated?  Am I deeply concerned for the welfare of another or am I fixated on my own perversions?  Am I stalking someone?  Am I a danger at all?  Would it help you if I changed the scenario?  How about instead of a mature female co-worker, a woman who may have the emotional and intellectual maturity to interpret my meaning and intentions, what if the target of my musings happened to be one of my 15 year-old female students?  Would this help you put things in context?  What would that context be?  Could I convince you that I only wanted to be her father figure?

Holmes High School former band director Jared Murray wants you to believe that.  A father figure.  Yup, building his own young woman with daddy issues.  Oops, my interpretation.  Sorry, I can’t quite see the father figure context.  I have two young girls that age and have never felt compelled to speak to them that way.  Maybe I’m not seeing something here.  Or maybe, I am.  And what I see disgusts the hell out of me.  Sorry Jared, being a father and all, I may be biased in my own right, but I can’t seem to get beyond the texts about slapping a young girl’s ass, whether she’s your daughter or not.  Of course, your response to questions about ass-slapping a young girl don’t quite give me any context to go on either:

“I haven’t done anything illegal with these texts and that’s what they prove.”

Sweet.  Something fatherly right there I tell ya.  I must have missed that in parenting class.  Slimy bastard.

Mr. Murray is, as noted, “former” band director.  That’s the worst that came of this, as none of theses messages rise to any criminal offense under Kentucky law.  Must be some arcane law defending communication privacy rights between a father figure and his target, oops I mean, surrogate daughter.  Not sure.  Maybe I took the law out of context too.  Apparently, we’d have to wait until he’s finally slapping her ass, or whatever other fatherly attention he intends to lavish upon her before we can fully put into context that he’s about to rape a 15 year-old girl, a pedophile in progress, with a victim in waiting.  And we get to listen to him rationalize that we’ve taken it all out of context.  Like we’re all that ignorant.  Additional context for me?  He’s been here before.  How’s that for a personal bias, Mr. Murray.  How many other young girls have you played father figure to?

What the law can’t speak to, society can.  Over at Matt Walsh’s blog, Matt is incensed that there is no law that adequately covers this type of behavior and is calling for the rest of us to ostracize the former band director.  If only.  Not sure this is going to work Matt, as much as I’d like to hope it would.  Murray’s lawyer has already threatened to sue the victim and the school district, while the family is being subjected to harassment in town.  Of course, Murray believes that the student involved has had a “history of bad behavior.”  Oops, more context.  Pedophiles don’t normally go for kids who aren’t already troubled in some way.  Again, slimy bastard.

Mr. Murray hopes to teach again.  One wonders, what context do I take that statement in?

